Current Executive Board Members

Ashley Toczylowski is the Chairperson of the 2013 – 2014 Moot Court Board.  Last year, Ashley competed at the Tulane Mardis Gras Sports Law Competition in New Orleans, Louisiana, where she was named third best oralist.  Ashley also won the 53rd Annual Honorable Theodore L. Reimel Moot Court Competition and was named best oralist.  Since May of 2012, Ashley has been working as an intern in the Philadelphia District Attorney’s Office.  Ashley graduated from Elizabethtown College in 2010.  Before entering law school, she completed a year of service in Philadelphia with City Year, a national non-profit organization.  She is interested in criminal law, and sports and entertainment law. 

Erica Kane is the 2013-2014 Reimel Competition Chair. Last year, Erica was a finalist in the Reimel Competition.  In spring 2013, she competed in the Philip C. Jessup International Moot Court Competition at George Washington University in Washington, D.C. This past summer, Erica worked as a summer associate at Sidney L. Gold & Associates, P.C. in Philadelphia, PA. Prior, she was a law clerk at Miller, Turetsky, Rule & McLennan in Collegeville, PA. In summer 2012, Erica was awarded a Walter Lucas Public Interest Fellowship for her work with the Public Benefits Unit at Philadelphia Legal Assistance.  Erica is the Founder and Co-Chair of Villanova's chapter of Law Students for Reproductive Justice and former Public Interest Fellowship Program executive board member.  Prior to law school, Erica graduated magna cum laude from Saint Joseph's University with a B.S. in Sociology, where she received a departmental honors degree for her research on reproductive rights and volunteer work with the Planned Parenthood Federation of America. Erica is interested in employment and health care law.

Kristin Noonan is the 2013-2014 Director of the Summer Competition.  In 2013, Kristin competed at the John J. Gibbons Criminal Procedure Moot Court Competition.  This past summer, Kristin worked as a judicial intern for the Honorable Michael Eakin on the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania.  Prior to entering law school, Kristin worked for Benco Dental.  She is from Allentown, Pennsylvania and graduated from Wellesley College in 2010.  Kristin is interested in litigation.

David Burdett is the 2013-14 Director of External Competitions.  In 2013, David competed at the John J. Gibbons Criminal Procedure Competition.  This past summer, David worked as a certified legal intern at the Bucks County (PA) District Attorney's Office.  During his 1L summer, David worked as a legal intern for the Somerset County (NJ) Prosecutor's Office.  David is from Basking Ridge, New Jersey and graduated from Emerson College.  David is interested in criminal law.

Keelin Boyle is the 2013-2014 Judicial Liaison.  Keelin competed in the Phillip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court competition in 2013.  During the summer of 2013, Keelin worked at Rubin Fortunato & Harbison P.C. as a summer associate.  She studied abroad in Rome, Italy during the previous summer and worked as in-house counsel for AmeriGas.  Keelin also worked as a Certified Legal Intern in Villanova's Farmworker Legal Aid Clinic and served as a judicial extern for the Honorable Linda Carpenter on the Philadelphia Court of Common Pleas.  She is from Hockessin, Delaware and graduated with her Bachelor of Arts degree from Loyola University Maryland in 2011.  She is interested in employment and international law, as well as commerical litigation.

Alexandra B. Peters is the 2013-2014 Brief Evaluator & Reimel Competition Problem Author. Last year, Alex was a Finalist in the Reimel Moot Court Competition.  She is also a part of the Civil Justice Clinic and holds the position of Magister for Villanova's chapter of Phi Delta Phi, the International Legal Honor Society.  Additionally, Alex was one of 15 students in the class of 2014 to be selected by faculty as a part of the J. Willard O'Brien American Inn of Court.  Alex has worked at the Telecommunications Industry Association in Washington, D.C. working on a variety of privacy law matters with the FCC, in the Delaware County Court of Common Pleas as an Extern for Judge George Pagano and as a Certified Legal Intern for the Delaware County District Attorney's office.  Alex hopes to minimize her time behind a desk and make a career as a litigator, ideally as a U.S. Attorney in Washington, D.C.

Steve McCloskey is a 2013-2014 Co-Director of Sports Law Competition. Last year, Steve competed in the Mardi Gras Sports Law Invitational Competition at Tulane University Law School in New Orleans, Louisiana.  Since his 1L summer, he has worked as a legal intern at the Law Offices of Joseph J. Rhoades in Wilmington, Delaware.  In 2011, he graduated from Arizona State University and is from Newark, Delaware. Steve is interested in civil law and criminal law.  Last year, Steve won the 53rd Annual Honorable Theodore L. Reimel Moot Court Competition.

Ross Goren is the 2013-2014 co-director of the sports law competition.  Last year, Ross competed at the Thurgood A. Marshall Memorial Moot Court Competition hosted by the Federal Bar Association in Washington, D.C.  During the summer of 2013, Ross worked as a summer associate at Anapol Schwartz.  During his 2L year, Ross helped put together a health law panel on a variety of issues and trends in the healthcare and pharmaceutical industry.  Additionally, he worked as a research assistant to Professor Michael Campbell analyzing the national and local changes to the healthcare industry as a result of the ACA.  Prior to law school, Ross worked in a drug delivery systems and bio-mechanical engineering laboratory where he was involved in a project developing injectable drug delivery systems for treatment of spinal chord injuries.  He has also spent time researching the pathophysiology and gender differences in the incidence of gallstone disease in men and women.  Ross is interested in healthcare and pharmaceutical law and regulation.

June Carfagno is the 2013-2014 Board Administrator. Last year, June competed in the National First Amendment Moot Court Competition at Vanderbilt University School of Law in Nashville, Tennessee. This past summer, June worked as a Law Clerk at Kaplin Stewart in the Land Use Department, and also as a summer extern for Villanova Law adjunct professor Ronald Agulnick, focusing on Pennsylvania land use law and property rights issues. Additionally, during her 2L year June was a student mentor in Villanova Law’s Academic Success Program, mentoring first year Property for Professor Sirico. During her 1L summer, June worked as a Legal Intern for Senator Robert M. Tomlinson. June graduated with her Bachelor of Arts degree in English from Pennsylvania State University, with honors in linguistics. June is interested in property rights and land use law. 

Current Moot Court Board Members

  • William Burrows
  • Manav Chopra
  • Nicholas Ciccone
  • Tina Evangelista
  • Christopher Ganz
  • Mark Hewlett
  • Melissa Kaplan
  • Michelle Michelson
  • Dana Morton
  • Steven Patton
  • Katelyn Sadowski
  • Richard Santosusso
  • Brennan Schreibman
  • Casey Schweppenheiser
  • Dave Singh
  • Thalia Staikos

Contact Us

Villanova University School of Law
Moot Court Board
299 N. Spring Mill Rd.
Villanova, PA 19085
(610) 519-7055

Follow VLS Moot Court on Twitter:


Interested in Judging for Moot Court?

If you would like to judge the Reimel Competition, please fill out the alumni online interest form.