ES2 at Villanova

ES2 at Villanova University



The Research Team

Dr. Aaron Wemhoff
ES2 Director Dr. Wemhoff Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Director of the Multiscale System Analysis Laboratory, Dr. Wemhoff teaches courses in the areas of thermodynamics, heat transfer and fluid mechanics.More 

Dr. Amy Fleischer
The first woman to be named full professor in Villanova’s College of Engineering, Dr. Fleischer is internationally recognized for her expertise in thermal fluid systems design and is Director of NovaTherm–The Villanova Thermal Management Laboratory. More

Dr. Kamran Fouladi
Adjunct professor of Mechanical Engineering and founder of InfoMec Solutions, a computational fluid dynamics consulting firm, Dr. Fouladi has more than 25 years of experience in the fields of mechanical and aerospace engineering. More

Dr. Gerard F. “Jerry” Jones
Mechanical Engineering Professor Dr. Jones joined the College of Engineering in 1987 and is currently its senior associate dean for Graduate Studies and Research. He also directs the Thermal and Flow Management of Multiscale Systems Laboratory. More



A Commitment to Sustainable Engineering 

Augmenting the breadth of Villanova ES2 team’s approach to data center energy management is the collective expertise found in the Villanova Center for the Advancement of Sustainability in Engineering (VCASE). An interdisciplinary group of VCASE researchers are addressing these related topics:


  • Alternative and renewable energy
  • Biorenewable resources and conversion technologies
  • Environmental sustainability
  • Sustainable infrastructure and materials
  • Stormwater management


Cutting Edge Facilities 

Villanova’s outstanding thermal-fluids laboratories contribute to the mission of the NSF ES2 Center:


Center for Energy-Smart Electronic Systems

Villanova ES2 Team Areas of Expertise
Thermal management
Electronics cooling
Fluid mechanics
Convective heat transfer
Sustainable energy technology
Multiscale systems
Computational fluid dynamics


Director: Dr. Amy Fleischer, Professor and Chair, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Director of the NovaTherm Laboratory

Dr. Amy Fleisher, ES2 Director
Phone: (610) 519-4996

Associate Director
Dr. Aaron Wemhoff, ES2 Associate Director
Phone: (610) 519-8045