Events

Thursday, February 23, 2017 at 3:00pm, Location TBA

The Elizabeth and J. Jay McAndrews Lecture on American Political Ideas

Speaker: Dr. Charles Murray, W. H. Brady Scholar at the American Enterprise Institute

Tuesday, February 28, 2017, Time and Location TBA

Co-sponsored by the Humanities Department

Speaker: Sir Roger Scruton

 

 

On Wednesdays at 7:30PM, the Matthew J. Ryan Center sponsors an undergraduate discussion group, which focuses on a different contemporary political issue each week.

The Brexit | Wednesday, August 31, 2016 at 7:30PM in Old Falvey 304

Free Speech | Wednesday, September 7, 2016 at 7:30PM in Old Falvey 304

The Patriot Act and National Security | Wednesday, September 14, 2016 at 7:30PM in Old Falvey 304

Factions within the Two Major Political Parties | Wednesday, September 21, 2016 at 7:30PM in Old Falvey 304

Police Brutality | Wednesday, September 27 at 7:30PM in Old Falvey 304

Religious Freedom | Wednesday, October 5, 2016 at 7:30PM in Old Falvey 304

Election 2016 | Wednesday, October, 19, 2016 at 7:30PM in Old Falvey 304

Syria | Wednesday, October 26, 2016 at 7:30PM in Old Falvey 304

Election 2016 |Wednesday, October, 19, 2016 at 7:30PM in Old Falvey 304

Abortion |Wednesday, November 2, 2016 at 7:30PM in Old Falvey 304

Post-Election Discussion |Wednesday, November 9, 2016 at 7:30PM in Old Falvey 304

The Future of the U.S. Economy |Wednesday, November 16, 2016 at 7:30PM in Old Falvey 304

 

 

 
 

On Thursdays at 6:00PM, the Matthew J. Ryan Center sponsors a discussion group in which both undergraduate and graduate students come together to discuss different texts that relate to the principles and processes of free government and institutions.

 

Plato, Republic, Book VIII |Thursday, September 1, 2016 at 6:00PM in Old Falvey 304

Aristotle, Politics, Book IV | Thursday, September 8, 2016 at 6:00PM in Old Falvey 304

Montesquieu, The Spirit of the Laws, Book II | Thursday, September 15, 2016 at 6:00PM in Old Falvey 304

James Madison, Federalist 57 | Thursday, September 22, 2016 at 6:00PM in Old Falvey 304

Theodore Roosevelt, “The Right of the People to Rule.” | Thursday, September 27, 2016 at 6:00PM in Old Falvey 304

Edmund Burke, Reflections on the French Revolution, para. 200-224 | Thursday, October 6, 2016 at 6:00PM in Old Falvey 304

Alexis de Tocqueville, Democracy in America, Volume 1 Chapter 13 | Thursday, October 20, 2016 at 6:00PM in Old Falvey 304

John Stuart Mill, Representative Government, Chapter VI | Thursday, October 27, 2016 at 6:00PM in Old Falvey 304

Karl Marx and Frederich Engels, “The Communist Manifesto.” | Thursday, November 3, 2016 at 6:00PM in Old Falvey 304

Ludwig von Mises, “Capitalism versus Socialism.” | Thursday, November 10, 2016 at 6:00PM in Old Falvey 304

Frederic Bastiat “The Law” | Thursday, November 17, 2017 at 6:00PM in Old Falvey 304

Wilhem Röpke, “The Political Framework of the Market Economy,” from Ch. II in A Humane Economy | Thursday, December 1, 2016 at 6:00PM in Old Falvey 304

The State of Democracy in America Today | Thursday, December 8, 2016 at 6:00PM in Old Falvey 304

 

 

 

Grad Party