Dissertations in Progress

Timothy Jussaume

Areas of interest include: 19th and 20th Century Continental Philosophy, Ethics, Healthcare Ethics, History of Philosophy, and Philosophy of Religion

Dissertation title: "Heidegger and the Nothing: Transcendence after Metaphysics"

timothy.jussaume@villanova.edu

Sarah Vitale

Areas of interest include: Marxist and post-Marxist philosophy, Social and political philosophy,20th-century feminist philosophy, Existentialism and Phenomenology
Dissertation title: "Marx and the Metaphysics of Production"

sarah.vitale@villanova.edu

Peter DeAngelis

Areas of interest include: Social and Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Law, and Moral Theory

Dissertation title: "Punishment, Social Justice, and Respect"
peter.deangelis@villanova.edu

John-Patrick Schultz

Areas of interest include: Ernst Bloch, Marxism, Critical Theory, Political Theology, Utopianism

Dissertation title: "A Theory of Revolutionary Temporality: Marx, Bloch, Benjamin" 

john-patrick.schultz@villanova.edu

Terry Maksymowych

Areas of interest include: Husserl, philosophy of mind, philosophy of science, and bioethics
Dissertation title: “Applying Richard Zaner's Phenomenology of the Clinical Encounter to the Treatment of Disorders of Sex Development (Intersex) Conditions”
terry.maksymowych@villanova.edu

John Bova

Areas of interest include:  reflexivity/reflection/self-reference, dialectic, metalogic, metaethics, events, mathematical ontologies, gunk, folds, intrinsicality & emptiness, detotalized-totality, in-itself & for-itself, difference & identity, relation, a/symmetry, structure & structures, theories of truth
Dissertation title: “The Idea of the Good:  Metalogic is Ethics”
john.bova@villanova.edu

Neil Brophy

Areas of interest include: phenomenology, hermeneutics, deconstruction, contemporary Continental philosophy, Derrida, Foucault, and Deleuze
Dissertation title: “Power, Life and the Limits of Experience: Foucault's Critique of Biopolitics”
neil.brophy@villanova.edu

Lee Cole

Areas of interest include: ancient and medieval theories of cognition, metaphysics, Thomas Aquinas and the Thomist tradition, phenomenology (esp. Merleau-Ponty)
Dissertation title: “Realism Embodied: Illumination, Abstraction, and Conversion in St. Thomas Aquinas”
lee.cole@villanova.edu

Christopher Davidson

Areas of interest include: Spinoza, Foucault, and Deleuze, Nietzsche
Dissertation title: “Ethics after the Genealogy of the Subject”
christopher.davidson@villanova.edu

Erika Kidd

Areas of interest include:  Plato, Augustine, Wittgenstein
Dissertation title: “Verbum et Vita: A Reading of Augustine's De Magistro”
(expected defense date, fall 2013), University of St. Thomas, Assistant Professor (tenure track) St. Paul, MN.
erika.kidd@villanova.edu

Jeff Gower

Areas of interest include: 19th and 20th century Continental philosophy, Ancient philosophy, philosophy and literature, and social and political philosophy
Dissertation title: "Bifurcated Life and the Logic of Sovereignty:
Being and Politics in Aristotle, Heidegger and Agamben"

jeffrey.gower@villanova.edu

Liam Kavanagh

Areas of interest include: Phenomenology; Deconstruction and MacIntyre
Dissertation title: "Principles of Reason: Derrida, MacIntyre, and the University"
liam.kavanagh@villanova.edu

Graduate Arts and Science Students - Apply Now button
Request Information Button

Philosophy Doctoral Program

Villanova University, SAC 108
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova, PA 19085
Phone: 610.519.8997 / Fax: 610.519.4639

Director:  Walter Brogan
Staff:  Terry DiMartino

file