Dissertations in Progress

Laura McMahon

Areas of interest include:
Dissertation title: "Vulnerability and Security: Perception and Politics in Merleau-Ponty"
lmcmaho1@villanova.edu

Summer Renault-Steele

Areas of interest include: Contemporary Continental Philosophy, Social and Political Philosophy (special emphasis on feminist thought) Aesthetics and Visual Cultures
Dissertation title: "A Ragpicker at Daybreak: Siegfried Kracauer and Extraterritorial Feminist Philosophy"
summer.renault-steele@villanova.edu

Ryan Feigenbaum

Areas of interest include: Kant,German idealism and romanticism, History and philosophy of science, Philosophy of science/biology
Dissertation title: "The Epistemic Foundations of German Biology, 1790-1802"
ryan.feigenbaum@villanova.edu

Jessie Dern

Areas of interest include: Deleuze, Deleuze and Guattari, Philosophy of Education and Pedagogy, Contemporary French Philosophy, Rancière, Nietzsche
Dissertation title: "Learning Without Method: Deleuze's Pedagogy"
jessie.dern@villanova.edu

Jessica Elkayam

Areas of interest include:
Dissertation title: "Thinking at the Limit of the Human: Nietzsche, Heidegger, and The Fundamental Concepts of Metaphysics"
jessica.elkayam@villanova.edu


Derek Aggleton

Areas of interest include: Politics, Plato, Contemporary French Thought
Dissertation title: "Ontological Movement and the Ethics of Tyranny in Heidegger, Nancy, and Plato"
derek.aggleton@villanova.edu

Christopher Noble

Areas of interest include: History and Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Nature
Dissertation title: "The Soul as 'Spiritual Automaton' in Leibniz's Synthetic Natural Philosophy"
christopher.noble@villanova.edu

Paul Camacho

Areas of interest include: Philosophy of Religion, Metaphysics, Late Antiquity, Medieval Philosophy, Ethics
Dissertation title: "The Weight of Love: Augustine on Desire and the limits of Autonomy"
paul.camacho@villanova.edu

Elie Saade

Areas of interest include: Philosophy of Religion, Continental Philosophy, Pragmatism
Dissertation title: "The Call to Believe and the 'Weak' God in William James's Philosophy of Religion"
elie.saade@villanova.edu

Peter DeAngelis

Areas of interest include: Social and Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Law, and Moral Theory
Dissertation title: "Punishment, Social Justice, and Respect"
pdeang02@villanova.edu

John-Patrick Schultz

Areas of interest include: Ernst Bloch, Marxism, Critical Theory, Political Theology, Utopianism
Dissertation title: "A Theory of Revolutionary Temporality: Marx, Bloch, Benjamin" 
john-patrick.schultz@villanova.edu

Michael Vendsel

Areas of interest include: Philosophy of Religion, medieval philosophy, epistemology, Kant, and Hegel
Dissertation title: "Hyperboles, Reconfigurations, and Ontological Arguments"
michael.vendsel@villanova.edu

Terry Maksymowych

Areas of interest include: Husserl, philosophy of mind, philosophy of science, and bioethics

Dissertation title: “Applying Richard Zaner's Phenomenology of the Clinical Encounter to the Treatment of Disorders of Sex Development (Intersex) Conditions” 
terry.maksymowych@villanova.edu

John Bova

Areas of interest include:  reflexivity/reflection/self-reference, dialectic, metalogic, metaethics, events, mathematical ontologies, gunk, folds, intrinsicality & emptiness, detotalized-totality, in-itself & for-itself, difference & identity, relation, a/symmetry, structure & structures, theories of truth
Dissertation title: “The Idea of the Good:  Metalogic is Ethics”
john.bova@villanova.edu

Lee Cole

Areas of interest include: ancient and medieval theories of cognition, metaphysics, Thomas Aquinas and the Thomist tradition, phenomenology (esp. Merleau-Ponty)
Dissertation title: “Realism Embodied: Illumination, Abstraction, and Conversion in St. Thomas Aquinas”
lee.cole@villanova.edu

Christopher Davidson

Areas of interest include: Spinoza, Foucault, and Deleuze, Nietzsche
Dissertation title: “Ethics after the Genealogy of the Subject”
christopher.davidson@villanova.edu

Liam Kavanagh

Areas of interest include: Phenomenology; Deconstruction and MacIntyre
Dissertation title: "Principles of Reason: Derrida, MacIntyre, and the University"
liam.kavanagh@villanova.edu

Request Information Button
Graduate Arts and Science Students - Apply Now button
philo return home
button to return to Graduate Studies Homepage

Philosophy Doctoral Program

Villanova University, SAC 108
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova, PA 19085
Phone: 610.519.8997 / Fax: 610.519.4639

Director:  Walter Brogan
Staff:  Terry DiMartino

file