Dorothy Day - Thomas Merton Award

The Dorothy Day-Thomas Merton Award is named after Dorothy Day and Thomas Merton who were two outstanding American contributors on the journey toward peace and justice. Their lives of study, writing, prayer and action have encouraged others to become involved in furthering the cause of justice and peace in the world.

This award is given to a graduating senior with a concentration or minor in Peace and Justice Education who has maintained academic excellence and made a significant contribution to the effort to further justice and peace during their 4 years at Villanova University.

Past Recipients

2014: Noelle Mapes

2013: Caitlin Billingham & Emily Several

2012: Ellen Salmi

2011: Jen Maez

2010: Amy Richards

2009: Gail Sondermeyer

2008: Amy Knop-Narbutis

2007: Emma Stewart

2006: Diane L. Coffey

2005: Kathleen E.Krackenberger

2004: Caitlin Fouratt & Melissa Wibbens

2003: Nancy R. Steedle

2002: Teresa C. Mambu

2001: Megan A. Kasimatis & Craig E. Hickein

2000: David O. Suetholz

1999: Andrea Maresca

1998: Vincent J. Coccia

1996: Michael E. Kennedy

1995: Raj Chablani

1994: Tara Coughlin

1993: Nantiya Ruan

1992: Stephen M. Smith

1991: Steven G. Liga

1989: Gregory Tucci

1988: Ingrid M. Birnbach

1987: Michael P. McGinnis

Contact Information

Center for Peace & Justice Education
Villanova University
Corr Hall, 1st Floor
800 Lancaster Ave.
Villanova, PA 19085
Ph: 610.519.4499
Fx: 610.519.4496

There are several ways that you can keep in touch with the Peace & Justice Community in one short step!

The Adela Dwyer-St. Thomas of Villanova 2014 Peace Award Presentation

The Adela Dwyer-St. Thomas of Villanova 2013 Peace Award Presentation

The Adela Dwyer-St. Thomas of Villanova 2012 Peace Award Presentation

various news photos