Endowed Chairs, Professorships, and Fellowships

The Augustinian Chair in the Thought of St. Augustine

Current Chair Holder:
James R. Wetzel, Ph.D., Philosophy Department

The Augustinian Chair in Thought of Augustine was established by the Augustinians of the Province of St Thomas of Villanova in 1994 to celebrate and strengthen the continuing influence of St. Augustine on their ministry of higher education. Learn more here.

Robert M. Birmingham Chair in Humanities

Inaugurated 9/17/98
Current Chair Holder:
John Doody, Ph.D., Philosophy Department

Heimbold Chair in Irish Studies

Inaugurated 2/15/2000
Current Chair Holder:
Eamonn Wall, PhD

To learn more about the Heimbold Chair in Irish Studies, please click here.

Josephine C. Connelly Chair in Christian Theology

Inaugurated 12/2/92
Current Chair Holder:
Rev. Michael Scanlon, O.S.A., S.T.D., Department of Theology and Religious Studies 

David R. Cook Chair of Philosophy

Inaugurated 3/30/93
Current Chair Holder:
William Desmond, Ph.D., Philosophy Department

Dennis M. Cook Endowed Mendel Chair in Genetics

Inaugurated 7/13
Current Chair Holder:

Dennis Wykoff, Ph.D., Biology Department

Gerald M. Lemole, M.D., Endowed Chair in Integrative Biology

Inaugurated 11/17/08
Current Chair Holder:
Aaron M. Bauer, Ph.D., Biology Department

To learn more about the Lemole Chair, please click here.

Albert R. Lepage Endowed Professorship in History

Current Chair Holder:

Cristina Soriano, Ph.D., History Department

Anne Quinn Welsh Endowed Chair and Director of Honors Program                      

Inaugurated May 2012

Current Chair Holder:
Thomas Smith, Ph.D., Director, Honors

Arthur J. Ennis Fellowships

Lawrence C. Gallen Teaching Fellowships in the Humanities

Mendel Science Experience Postdoctoral Fellowships

Barbieri Fellowship

The Rocco and Gloria Barbieri Lecture Series and Faculty Fellowship were endowed in 1993 by Rocco Barbieri '59. It provides for a year of post-doctoral growth for a talented scholar. The lecture series features the research of senior Ennis and Gallen fellows.

Luckow Family Endowed Chair in English

Current Chair Holder:
Lauren Shohet, Ph.D., Department of English

To learn more about the Luckow Chair, please click here.

The Harron Family Endowed Chair in Communication

Inaugurated 9/27/2011
Current Visiting Chair Holder:
Wendy Leeds-Hurwitz, PhD

To learn more about the Harron Chair, please click here.